The floor of Joel Coliseum was full sports writers and sports broadcasters on Monday night. They were in Winston-Salem for the annual National Sports Media Association awards, which were being held at the coliseum for the second consecutive year.

The NSMA recognized its four Hall of Fame inductees — sportscaster Mike Emrick, sportswriter Peter King, sportswriter Tony Kornheiser and sports broadcaster Bob Ley — as well as the national sportswriter and sportscaster of the year.

Doris Burke is the first woman to be win the organization’s Sportscaster of the Year award, and Adrian Wojnarowski was named the Sportswriter of the Year.

The association also recognized the best sportswriters and sportscasters from around the country.

Winning the sportswriter of the year award for North Carolina was Ed Hardin of the Greensboro News & Record.

John Forslund, the play-by-play announcer for the Carolina Hurricanes, was named the sportscaster of the year for North Carolina.

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily morning newsletter.

Load comments